US projector research · October 16, 2026

Big picture.
Right projector.
Your room.

A great projector only works when its lens fits your space. Start with screen size and placement, then explore exact US specifications for movies, gaming and golf simulation.

Start with how you will use it

Gaming

4K & fast response

Find the actual refresh/input lag mode; don't mix 1080p/240Hz with 4K/60Hz measurements.

Gaming projectors →
Golf

Impact-screen fit

Use your impact screen width, mounting height, swing safety and usable short-throw lens range.

Golf simulator setup →
Home cinema

Ultra-short throw

Understand UST installation dimensions versus large OLED and mini-LED TVs.

UST planning guide →

Could it fit your room?

This helper estimates lens-to-screen distance for 16:9 projection from the exact manufacturer's optical throw ratio. It is a placement screen, not a full Projector Finder, recommendation score, product test or installation guarantee.

16:9 image — 100″ diagonal is about 7.26 ft wide
Feet from lens, not the wall-to-wall room depth
Only filters available research leads

Research profiles appear below. Enable JavaScript to filter by optical fit.

For ultra-short throw, optical ratios must not be used to infer cabinet-to-wall clearance. Check the exact manufacturer's UST positioning diagram. Screen offset, ventilation, ceiling height and geometry correction require separate checks.

Source-backed US projector research

11 exact model leads, with expanded XGIMI research below. These are unscored profiles; specifications are labelled separately from independent measurements and dated buying observations.

RESEARCH PROFILE · NOT SCORED

BenQ TK710

Longer-throw laser gaming setup with 4K/60Hz input-lag claim and optical zoom.

Standard throwGamingMovies
Exact US model
TK710
Picture output
4K UHD output (manufacturer)
Manufacturer brightness
3,200 ANSI lumens
Input response
16.7 ms · 4K 60Hz, manufacturer claimed

Calculating approximate lens distance…

RESEARCH PROFILE · NOT SCORED

BenQ TK710STi

Short-throw sibling of TK710 for larger images at a shorter lens-to-screen distance.

Short throwGamingMovies
Exact US model
TK710STi
Picture output
4K UHD output (manufacturer)
Manufacturer brightness
3,200 ANSI lumens
Input response
16.7 ms · 4K 60Hz, manufacturer claimed

Calculating approximate lens distance…

RESEARCH PROFILE · NOT SCORED

BenQ AK700ST

Golf simulator 4K laser projector with 16:9, 16:10, 4:3 and 1:1 screen-fill modes.

Short throwGolfMovies
Exact US model
AK700ST
Picture output
4K UHD output (manufacturer)
Manufacturer brightness
4,000 ANSI lumens
Input response
33.4 ms · 4K 60Hz, manufacturer claimed

Calculating approximate lens distance…

RESEARCH PROFILE · NOT SCORED

XGIMI HORIZON 20 Pro

2025 XR14A with Google TV and flexible optical placement. Check measured picture and gaming modes below.

Standard throwMoviesGaming
Exact US model
XR14A
Picture output
4K UHD pixel-shift DLP (independent description)
Manufacturer brightness
4,100 ISO lumens
Input response
Independent lag varies by mode; see the measured research

Calculating approximate lens distance…

Read tests and buying details →
RESEARCH PROFILE · NOT SCORED

Hisense C2 Ultra

Flexible optical range with US specification sheet and an RGB trichroma-laser system.

Standard throwMoviesGaming
Exact US model
C2 Ultra US
Picture output
4K/60Hz output (manufacturer)
Manufacturer brightness
3,000 ANSI lumens
Input response
Not yet independently verified

Calculating approximate lens distance…

RESEARCH PROFILE · NOT SCORED

XGIMI AURA 2

Original 2024 WM03B with Android TV 11. Current WM18P New is a separate version; new US stock of WM03B is unconfirmed.

Ultra short throwMovies
Exact US model
WM03B
Picture output
4K UHD pixel-shift DLP (independent description)
Manufacturer brightness
2,300 ISO lumens
Input response
Not yet independently verified

UST placement: official positioning chart required

Read tests and buying details →
RESEARCH PROFILE · NOT SCORED

Epson Pro Cinema LS9000

3LCD installation-oriented theater projector with 4K/120 input support, lens shift and motorized optics.

Standard throwMoviesGaming
Exact US model
V11HC13120
Picture output
4K UHD 8.29 million displayed pixels (Epson proprietary shifting)
Manufacturer brightness
2,200 ISO white lumens / IDMS color lumens
Input response
Not yet independently verified

Throw ratio needs verification

RESEARCH PROFILE · NOT SCORED

Epson QB1000 (white)

Premium laser 3LCD home-theater model; exact US white SKU distinguished from black variant.

Standard throwMovies
Exact US model
V11HB23020
Picture output
4K UHD 8.29 million displayed pixels (Epson proprietary shifting)
Manufacturer brightness
3,300 ISO white lumens / IDMS color lumens
Input response
Not yet independently verified

Throw ratio needs verification

RESEARCH PROFILE · NOT SCORED

Samsung The Premiere 9

2024 US Premiere triple-laser UST variant with a manufacturer-claimed 0.189 throw ratio.

Ultra short throwMovies
Exact US model
SP-LPU9DSAXXZA
Picture output
4K UHD output (manufacturer)
Manufacturer brightness
3,450 ISO lumens
Input response
Not yet independently verified

UST placement: official positioning chart required

RESEARCH PROFILE · NOT SCORED

NexiGo PJ40 Pro

1080p LCD Google TV projector accepting a 4K input signal but not rendering a 4K image; independently reviewed by RTINGS (2026).

Standard throwBudgetMovies
Exact US model
PJ40 Pro Google TV US
Picture output
1920x1080 displayed; 4K input support only
Manufacturer brightness
800 advertised lumens (RTINGS: ANSI; maker: 800 lumens)
Input response
Not yet independently verified

Calculating approximate lens distance…

RESEARCH PROFILE · NOT SCORED

XGIMI Elfin Flip 4K

2026 US compact 4K laser model; 1ms marketing claim applies to 1080p/120Hz, not 4K/60Hz.

Standard throwPortableGamingMovies
Exact US model
Elfin Flip 4K US
Picture output
4K UHD pixel-shift DLP (independent description)
Manufacturer brightness
1,600 ISO lumens
Input response
1 ms · 1080p 120Hz, game mode VRR on / AK off, manufacturer claimed

Calculating approximate lens distance…

Four buying checks worth doing first

Screen width comes first

Multiply the image width by the lens throw ratio to estimate horizontal lens distance. A 100-inch 16:9 screen is approximately 87.2 inches wide. A standard BenQ TK710 optical range implies about 8.35–10.89 feet, before installation constraints.

Brightness standards are different

ANSI, ISO white, IDMS color and unspecified manufacturer lumens are not interchangeable lab measurements. A lower-brightness projector might still work best in a controlled dark room; ambient light and screen gain are critical.

Check exact gaming input modes

A claimed 1 ms response at 1080p/120Hz does not mean 1 ms at 4K/60Hz. Validate console modes, HDMI bandwidth, HDR, VRR and real test conditions before buying.

Don't mistake 4K input for 4K output

The NexiGo PJ40 Pro accepts 4K source input but displays 1920×1080 pixels. More expensive models may display 4K via pixel-shifting rather than native 4K imaging chips. These are different facts.

Common projector questions

How far away should a projector be from a 100-inch screen?

Multiply 7.26 feet of screen width by the selected lens's throw ratio. For example, BenQ TK710's verified 1.15–1.5 range implies approximately 8.35–10.89 feet lens to screen. UST projectors require their manufacturer's exact wall-clearance table instead.

Do I need 4K for a 100-inch image?

Not always: seating distance, source quality, actual projected resolution, optical sharpness and contrast all matter. Confirm that “supports 4K” means more than accepting a 4K HDMI signal.

Why can't Piqelo show a projector rating yet?

Our final Piqelo Score needs verified exact-model expert evidence, owner experience, reliability and real new-condition US value. Manufacturer specifications are valuable for compatibility, not enough for an honest product score.

Compare the measured XGIMI research and exact US buying details below, or use the TV Finder to check whether a large screen television better suits your room.

Compare with large TVs →How Piqelo researches products →

XGIMI AURA 2 and HORIZON 20 Pro: the buying details

These two projectors solve different room problems. The AURA 2 sits close to the screen; the HORIZON 20 Pro needs space behind the image. Check the exact generation as carefully as the throw distance.

Research profiles, without a final Piqelo Score or Search Score: owner, reliability and value evidence still needs completion.

XGIMI HORIZON 20 Pro · XR14A · 2025

For a movie night or a game on a large screen, the HORIZON 20 Pro offers room to adjust the image optically before resorting to digital correction. Its 1.2–1.5 lens range needs roughly 8.7–10.9 feet for a 100-inch 16:9 image. Use the standard US XR14A with Google TV; the older HORIZON Pro, base HORIZON 20 and Max are separate models.

The US launch source dates this generation to 2025. The independent RTINGS sample label also reads XR14A, manufactured November 2025. XGIMI US introduction ↗ RTINGS Tested-unit label ↗

Lens Shift has an important setup trade-off: XGIMI says it disables Auto Focus, Auto Keystone and Eye Protection. Follow the documented controls when placing the projector. XGIMI Read the lens-shift instructions ↗

What the measured picture tells you

Brightness depends strongly on the setting. Tom’s Guide’s measurements below show why the brightest mode is not automatically the one to watch. Tom's Guide Read the test and method ↗

Independent observations · XR14A model research
MeasurementReported resultTest conditions
Brightness · default2792 ANSI lumensDefault settings; ANSI pattern/light-meter test
Brightness · Luminance Boost3540 ANSI lumensLuminance Boost on; gamut reduction reported
Brightness · High Power4773 ANSI lumensHigh Power; green tint and louder fans, not a calibrated recommendation
Full-on / full-off contrast1257 :1FOFO; not manufacturer's DBLE dynamic contrast
DCI-P3 coverage · Vivid92 %Vivid preset; Spyder X2 Ultra, 1.1-gain screen; default Standard reports 85%
Input lag · PC Mode49 msPC Mode; comparative high-speed timecode photos against 120Hz laptop OLED; source resolution/refresh not explicitly attached to this number

PC Mode’s comparative 49ms result is not a verified 4K/60Hz absolute measurement. High-refresh Super Frame reduces resolution; “1ms” should not be read as a promise for every game. RTINGS Read the independent gaming assessment ↗

RTINGS found high refresh more responsive than 60Hz and noted color separation with VRR. Its introductory Android TV description conflicts with the US Google TV specification; we use the manufacturer’s US software specification and keep test conditions separate.

Living with it

Some self-identified owners report stuttering in the built-in Disney+ app; other streaming apps behaved differently. This is a useful return-window check, not a failure-rate estimate. The Amazon listing combines ratings for the base, Pro and Max, so those stars cannot establish the Pro’s reliability. Reddit Read owner reports ↗

XGIMI’s US policy lists two-year limited coverage for this model purchased directly or from its official Amazon store. Long-term repair and failure data remains unverified. XGIMI Check seller-specific warranty terms ↗

US buying options for the standalone XR14A

$1,999 at XGIMI US was verified on October 16, 2026 for the standard new unit, before tax. The page showed free US shipping and dispatch beginning within 1–3 days. The Amazon button opens the matched Pro child product, without a stand bundle.

This dated store observation is separate from Piqelo’s refreshed offers. Amazon may earn Piqelo a commission; it does not affect the research.

Research status: identity, generation, two expert tests and a current new US purchase route are established. Exact-Pro owner evidence, reliability, mode reconciliation and a comparable current-value group are still needed for a complete scored recommendation.

XGIMI AURA 2 · original WM03B · 2024

If a ceiling projector would dominate the room, the original AURA 2 creates a large image from a cabinet by the screen. Allow for the cabinet, screen height and ventilation before committing: its 0.177 optical ratio is not the distance from the cabinet to the wall. XGIMI recommends 90–130-inch viewing, within a stated 90–150-inch image range.

The 2024 US WM03B runs Android TV 11 with 2GB RAM. The newer WM18P runs Google TV with 4GB RAM. Original-model tests do not automatically validate that replacement. XGIMI Original US specification ↗ XGIMI Compare the New version ↗

Use the original model’s positioning instructions for cabinet height and screen alignment. XGIMI Open the original manual page ↗

Picture, sound and independent tests

RTINGS tested a WM03B manufactured in August 2024, confirming the original hardware. It found useful brightness and natural color, with compromises in mixed-scene depth, movie judder and 60Hz gaming. Its detailed numeric cells are restricted, so the measurements below come from a separately identified test. RTINGS Read the original-model test ↗ RTINGS Verify the tested label ↗

Independent observations · WM03B model research
MeasurementReported resultTest conditions
Light output · calibratedAbout 1500 ANSI lumensAfter calibration on NothingProjector ALR Black Series; do not convert to ISO claim or US-unit guarantee
On / off contrast1695–1716 :1Picture modes at brightness 10 on ALR screen; dynamic-setting/firmware not disclosed
SDR color error · calibrated1.46 delta E as reportedAfter user calibration on ALR screen; reviewer notes instrument accuracy limitations
Input lag · Game Mode15–20 msGaming mode, keystone off; resolution/refresh not disclosed

Laurent Willen tested the original model in Europe using a NothingProjector ALR Black Series screen. These are setup-specific observations, including approximate calibrated output, not guaranteed US-unit values. Firmware and the lag signal’s resolution/refresh were not disclosed. Laurent Willen Read measurement conditions ↗

What Hi-Fi? also found the integrated sound useful, while flagging HDR highlight clipping, rainbow artifacts and streaming-app limitations on the original Android TV version. An external streamer may be part of the real setup cost. What Hi-Fi? Read the listening and picture assessment ↗

Owners and long-term reliability

The exact WM03B listing at PB Tech has two small owner accounts, one marked Verified Owner, praising setup, picture and speakers. They are New Zealand reports, and the site offers a review prize draw; this is insufficient for a US owner component or a failure-rate conclusion. PB Tech Inspect the owner records ↗

Buying the original model today

No current new US WM03B offer has been confirmed. XGIMI’s original-model store feed is unavailable. The old B&H WM03B URL now names WM18P in its manufacturer field; Amazon lookups also show inconsistent original/New child selection. We therefore withhold an original-model Amazon button rather than send you to a different generation.

Before buying an AURA 2 elsewhere, ask for the model label, operating system, condition and US warranty in writing. If you choose the current WM18P, evaluate it as that separate version. B&H Inspect the current B&H model field ↗ XGIMI Original introduction ↗

Research status: original identity, 2024 generation and three expert sources are documented. Current exact new US stock, stable original-model Amazon routing, qualified owners, reliability and current value remain open.

Piqelo.

Tell us what you like.We’ll Piq the best.

Find my TV →
Trust & transparencyIndependent by design.

Some retailer links may be affiliate links. Commercial relationships never buy a score, recommendation, award or retailer order. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.